If Tomorrow Comes

8a2ef8085cd388f3f1bd35d1d41c5ba1This was one of my favorite Sidney Sheldon book. It still is. The story is about a con artist out for revenge. The title represents the determination and will of the heroine to overcome the cruel fate she faces and should tomorrow come, she can rise up to avenge her family and herself.

The idea of tomorrow represents many things. Tomorrow is a future unknown yet known. I slept last night, thinking that I’ll be waking up the next day with things to do. So in a way, I am certain of my future. Yet, how sure was I that I would still wake up? Sometimes, I purposely don’t fall asleep and try to eke out minutes until it’s midnight. When it’s 12:05 am, I tell myself, well, I’m alive. I’m here in tomorrow. Then I fall asleep.

That’s how sometimes I deal with my fear of dying.

Stupid, huh?

I don’t know, somehow, this method calms my inner turmoil. It sheds a bit of hope as to what tomorrow will bring. Unfortunately, I am merely deluding myself based on a clock that tells me that it’s the following day. When it’s 12:05 am, tomorrow has gone and today is basically what I comforted myself with.

I was reading this article on Scientific American Mind (July/August 2014 issue, page 10-11) on how we sense time. This is not exactly new to me as I have learned over my years as a bookworm that time is relative. It is flexible and it is definitely not the same for everyone or thing.

So beyond learning that time passes faster for insects like flies, there was an info-graphic that asked, “Which Way is Tomorrow?”

This was interesting because tomorrow varies from one person to another. This is largely due to culture and geography. Even now, as I type each letter on this blog post, seconds of time has passed letting me know that what I have written is over and done. If the keys on the computer keyboard were alive, and each time they are pressed is equivalent to one day, the letters would have gone years in just half a day. This article would explain it better. Concept wise, it’s all relative to me.

To test how we all perceive time, I asked my daughter, father and stepmother, which way is tomorrow for them. Their answers were surprisingly different.

For my daughter Heaven, she first pointed up, towards the sky/ceiling. When I rephrased the question, she pointed downwards.

For my stepmom, she pointed towards the front, or straight ahead of her.

For my father, he pointed towards the sky/ceiling.

As for me, I pointed the same way as my stepmom.

Based on the article, most Spanish cultures would point forward, ahead. For Mandarin or Chinese culture, the would point downwards. For Hebrew and Arabic, they would point to the left direction and for English culture, to the right direction. This is closely linked to their language, how it is written and their traditions and beliefs.

As midday draws near, I wait for time to slowly pass me by. My daughter will finish her dance class in a bit and writing this blog post has helped me pass the time productively.

Tomorrow is still uncertain and I think that I would still find myself doing my countdown to midnight. However, the future of not knowing is also a gift in itself. It is a surprise, a wonderful one should you get to wake up and greet a new day with a smile and a thankful heart.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

