The Melancholy of a Rogue

Leap before you look.

That has always been how I take on life. Somehow, I have always thought that taking a risk is something that comes naturally for all but I was wrong. A lot of people think things over a million tines before deciding on taking a risk. I should have been one of them but I’m not.

I was mulling over broken paths. How those roads once led to another place but now, overgrown bushes cover the way or fallen leaves and branches scatter about, giving them a weary look. Those broken paths seemed lonely.

I have encountered many of those. 

The rogue in me would try to clear the path and follow it through, expecting a wonderful surprise at the end. Sadly, I am often left wanting. Broken paths don’t always lead you to a new adventure or paradise. It often just opens up another broken path.

Should I stop this habit of mine? It seems pathetic to be hopeful. I want to be a cynic. I want to be rational about this but I can’t. I still become optimistic for each path I see. I walk and wander and still look forward as to where my feet would lead me. Although, nowadays, I wish there’s someone to make this journey with me.

Still, I yearn to try, I seek to live for the adventure of the unknown. I feel alive when I do. 

Not everyone gets this. Not everyone cares. However, I simply want to write this down and get it out there. 

I am me and you are you. We may meet and walk the same paths or we may walk away from each other. I pray that the few steps we had together would be memories we can hold on to with smiles on our hearts.

Leave a Reply

