Off with her head!

The queen of hearts from Alice in wonderland was one of the most unexpected character i have encountered in a story. Maybe because it belies the image of the queen of hearts from a deck of cards. 

I thought for sure that the queen would be kind, beautiful and beloved by all. Lewis Carroll flipped this image and now we have the egomaniacal, ugly and mean queen.

I think Love can be much like the Queen of Hearts. On such an auspicious day like Valentine’s Day, I expected a sweet king of love that can make me go swoon buy instead, what I received was the weird, confusing and disappointing actions from guys. 

The only silver lining was the date I had with my two girlfriends and it was a blast. We talked of life, friends and guys who broke our hearts.

Valentine’s day left me dazed and irritated. It was a pain in the neck. At the end of the day, I distinctly heard the Queen of Hearts and Love shout, “Off with her head!”

Leave a Reply

