Looking back…

I used to dream of going to places I have read in books

I used to dream of performing on stage

I used to dream of happily ever after

I don’t anymore.

I live to work in an 8 to 5 shift

I live to provide for my family

I live to set aside my dreams

I live to exist for everybody but myself.

What happened to me?

Where is that girl who used to frolic freely along the beach?

Where is that girl who used to simply write for the sake of writing alone?

She’s in hibernation.

She’s in suspended animation.

She’s locked within me.

Wake me up!

Let me out!

Unlock this prison!

I want to be free.

Leave a Reply

