A New Room

The goldfish swimming inside the fishbowl was as jittery as I am. After my father placed him inside, he kept on flittering here and there, moving about as if expecting something bad will happen to him. I share the same sentiments because the new house we moved in was huge and creepy. The old floorboards would creak at each step and the dust was everywhere. I dreaded this day of moving in. It was as if there’s no turning back. Nothing will ever be the same again. Not only did I lose my mother, I lost a life where I was once happy and safe.

I placed my finger inside the fishbowl and immediately, the goldfish backed away from it. I slowly moved my finger closer and closer and the fish started to swim in panic. I removed my finger from the bowl and looked for the fish flakes I bought earlier.

I dropped some of it inside and the little guy swam to it without fear.

“Leila! Come up here and see your room!”

I ran towards my father’s voice and saw him with a big smile on his handsome face.

“My room? I have my own room?”

“I certainly think it’s time. I hope you’ll like it.”

I saw the prettiest room any eleven year old girl would dream of. There was a canopy bed with white curtains, fluffy white pillows with embroidered roses. To my right was a window that overlooked the city in all its bustling life. In a corner, a study table where horse figurines are perched on the shelf to inspire me. At the foot of the bed, a little sofa, should I have some friends over and on my left, my guitar resting near a closet where all my clothes are neatly hanged and pressed with my shoes lined up in a rack.

Suddenly, that fear of not liking the changes in my life was gone. I went to get the fishbowl and saw that the goldfish was now swimming in a relaxed manner. He was obviously happy with the food I gave. I dipped my finger once more in the bowl and this time, the fish went by swimming back and forth, ignoring my finger.

I placed the bowl near the windowsill and sat on my new bed. As the light reflected itself on the water, I thought of how beautiful this day was.

Leave a Reply

