Self-Control and Discipline

As a teacher, it’s difficult to maintain that sense of control when you’re in a roomful of hormonal adolescents. A challenge for me is to keep myself from expecting an immediate change after what I have taught them or tried to impart with them life lessons that they can bring with them for the rest of their lives.

So I’m stuck.

Today is Ash Wednesday and it marks the beginning of the Lenten season wherein everything should be minimized and controlled. This I realized, should also include my own desires of perfection, expectations and harsh methods of discipline.

When the priest said to me, “Repent and believe in the Gospel”, I truly felt sorry for all I have done. It was as if I was carrying a huge burden that I placed on my own shoulders. So today, I let go of all my expectations and frustrations. I will try to be less abrasive to everyone, especially to my daughter.

I was also reminded that God made himself human to connect better with us through Jesus Christ. In a way, maybe Jesus also experienced what I’m experiencing now and of course, praying for a calmness to settle within my troubled mind and emotions might also help in attaining peace of mind and soul as obviously, He was able to overcome everything. Although He is God, the core solution would be to establish self-control and discipline within.

And that’s what I’ll do.

Leave a Reply

