Just a Dream

The lights were dim. The place was packed with people who came to watch them play. This was in one of those street clubs that allows you only to stand while dancing and jumping to the music with your one hand holding your bottle of beer and the other waving up in the air. Nobody cares who is standing right next to who just as long as you are there, enjoying each passing moment with your friends.

Then our eyes met above the din of reggae and ska. I felt my heart do a somersault and suddenly, I felt conscious of how I looked. You looked quite dashing with your maroon corduroy jacket, black t-shirt and dark blue jeans. You stealthily crossed the distance between us and took my hand. I gazed down on how your hand firmly held mine and when you tugged me to follow you outside, I allowed myself to be dragged out of the crowded room.

“Come, let’s grab a smoke,” you say and I nodded my consent. As we passed by the milling people, I felt the cold air breeze past me and I shivered. You noticed this and removed your jacket and draped it around my bare shoulders. In an instant, I was engulfed in your warmth and your smell. I felt so cocooned in you, that I can’t help but let a wide smile appear on my bewildered face.

As we walked away from everyone else, it seemed that my heart was thumping faster than a rabbit’s tail. You took out a cigarette for me and lit it. As you gave it, I returned a mumbled thank you.

The moonlight streamed from behind you and for a moment, I felt that you were some dark angel. You were about to say something when out of nowhere, someone called out your name.

That someone was a familiar voice and as he approached, I felt goosebumps all over. Of all the people who would see us, my ex-boyfriend was the last person I wanted it to be so.

Suddenly, I found myself in a dark stairway. I could hardly see the steps or the handrail. I fell to my knees and started to feel the steps, pushing myself to go up the stairs, searching for any semblance of light. I called out your name several times until finally, I came to the stairs’ landing and realized I was no longer in the club but in a huge room with a balcony that showed the moon’s beam across an empty lawn.

There were other people on the balcony but your were no longer there. I was lost and the only familiar face I saw was that of a human-sized Pinnochio.

I screamed in terror but no one seemed to hear nor care. I decided to go back where I came from but as I ran towards the stairs, there was only a black wall in its place.

Tears ran down my face and I could only sink to the floor, looking out to the balcony. After a few moments of crying, I stood up and hoisted myself over the balcony rail.

I jumped for my sanity and after what seemed forever, I felt your arms catch me. I heard you call out my name, shaking me into consciousness. I gingerly opened my eyes and saw you with worry and concern written all over your handsome face.

“Are you okay? How are you feeling?”

“What happened?”

“You fainted.”

I realized that it was just the two of us and suddenly, everything was alright. No matter how the night will end, I was content to find myself in your arms, one way or another.

You helped me to my feet and from the way you held me close to you, I knew that I gave you quite a scare. For a while, you simply stared at me and I knew that I was unashamedly staring back for the first time.

I inched closer to you and I noticed that you did not back away but gripped me even tighter. Could this be it? Could this be my first kiss with you?

Alarm bells went off in my head and I chose to ignore it.

The ringing in my ears continued but I already closed my eyes in anticipation.

There were now vibrations accompanying the bells and that was really weird. So I opened my eyes and saw my phone ringing. It was 5:35am. Time to wake up and get ready for work.

Sigh. That was one unforgettable dream, though.

Leave a Reply

