The Break-Up

This is it. This is just you and me and no one else.

I thought we had it right, you know. We have each other and it was enough for me. I was wrong. Reality crept in and suddenly, I look at you and all I see is my mistake. Why did I let you take my hand that night? Why did we even bother to flirt and dance? I should have just ignored you.

Now, three years later, we’re here. Nowhere, to be exact. You have your world and I have mine. That love we shared fervently is now as cold and lifeless as the floor I stand on. It’s a hard thing to realize that taking responsibility, becoming an adult and everything that goes with that territory is something you want to delay. 

I can’t wait for you. 

You should know that I mean this.

Leave a Reply

