A Love Poem

This is extremely mushy and frankly, I don’t care. This poem was written by Robert Herrick (1591-1674) who was a bachelor in the late 17th century. Although the title was for a woman named Anthea, it was said that Herrick used fictional characters for his poems.

Unlike his counterpart John Donne, his poetry was simple, easy to understand and uses a rhyming meter. This is what appealed to me. Makes the poem easy to memorize.

The poem itself reflects how I used to love. As if my beau can command me anything. Hope you’ll like it, too.

 

“To Anthea, Who May Command Him Anything”

Bid me to live, and I will live
Thy Protestant to be;
Or bid me love, and I will give
A loving heart to thee.

A heart as soft, a heart as kind,
A heart as sound and free
As in the whole world thou canst find,
That heart I’ll give to thee.

Bid that heart stay, and it will stay
To honour thy decree;
Or bid it languish quite away,
And’t shall do so for thee.

Bid me to weep, and I will weep,
While I have eyes to see;
And having none, yet I will keep
A heart to weep for thee.

Bid me despair, and I’ll despair,
Under that cypress tree;
Or bid me die, and I will dare
E’en death, to die for thee.

–Thou art my life, my love, my heart,
The very eyes of me;
And hast command of every part,
To live and die for thee.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

