My Help

I woke up hearing Mother’s voice scold Lea.

“You are no good. You always ask for my help at the littlest things. You do this and then you run to me for help. What will I do with you?”

“But Mama…”

“No buts.”

This conversation greets me every time Lea gets into trouble. Being the youngest in the family, she instinctively turns to Mother for help over the littlest things. I wonder what she did now.

I rose up from my bed and flung the curtains on my window open to let the light come in. It was a beautiful day, sunny and cool. I went down to wash my face.

“Why can’t you be like Lila? She never asks for my help. You will turn out to be a nothing. You hear that? Nothing!”

I felt the hurtful words sting my heart. I know Lea is doing her best.
The breakfast table came to my view and I saw Lea sprawled on the kitchen floor, her hands tentatively feeling for something to hold on to.

Mother was busily washing the dishes, her back turned to Lea.

“Lila, don’t you dare help your sister.”

Lea silently wept. Pretending not to see her, I went to the bathroom to wash my face, passed her forlorn face and hardened my heart.

While I looked at my reflection in the mirror, I thought to myself, “She needs this. Just because she’s blind, she can’t expect to be treated differently. That’s not how life works. Mama always say that the world does not owe us any favor.”

Leave a Reply

