The Terrible Tens

No one really told me that come around ten months, your little angel becomes a hellion. Yes, my once happy, timid and jolly baby has now become a crying, grouchy and will no longer listen to me baby monster. Could it be because Halloween is just around the corner?

I don’t know. I am simply astonished on her tantrums and naughtiness. Yesterday, my patience broke and after withstanding another bickering with her (yes, my 10-month old baby shouts back at me), I threw down the towel and admitted defeat. I cried. I honestly didn’t want her around me. It was a horrible horrible moment.

They said that postpartum can happen anytime from birth to two years and maybe, yesterday was mine. I felt so down and depressed. Was I a bad mother? I have such a hard time disciplining her because honestly, Heaven knows what “No” means and yet, she always goes out of her way to taunt me each time I tell her “No”. Remember that scene in finding Nemo when Marlin asked nemo not to put his fin on the boat and Nemo gave Marlin a look and did it anyway? Well, that’s what Heaven does to me. Every time.

So now, here I am. Ranting. And simply wondering what could I be doing wrong? Should I play with her some more? Should I simply give in to her demands? Being a parent is just tricky.

For now, I can only pray that when she’s 11 month old, she would have passed this terrible stage.

Good night, world!

Leave a Reply

