3 Things I Learned from my Gay Cousin

There are times when i get really fearful about what the future will bring. These days, you can never tell what can happen. However, my super gay cousin have learned how to deal with feelings of insecurity and fear. Here are 3 things he taught me that helped me keep my head up high and face life head on.

  1. Beauty is Power – He preaches this mantra to me every time we meet. I rarely see him without any make-up. He told me that making sure I look great by taking time to put on make-up spells C-O-N-F-I-D-E-N-C-E. This is my shield against anything I may encounter. Some people would say that the natural look is good enough but I soon discovered how right my gay cousin was. People often take you more seriously when you are made up. In doing so, this boosts up your self, making you confident and more beautiful.
  2.  Accessorize – The right accessories are essential in looking good. I noticed that gay men are meticulous when it come to their appearance. I also notice that they make looking good easy. My gay cousin would dress casually but with the right accessories, he comes looking glam. A cute cap, some dangling earrings or hoop earrings, a huge bangle or wide belt are some of the pieces I learned that can make your day to day wardrobe get an instant makeover.
  3. Be True To Yourself – Not everyone can be brave to come out of the closet and admit that they are gay. Some would rather live in a lie. I learned how being honest on who you are and what you really want in life can help put things into perspective more easily. Prioritizing the things you value most are now more clear. Being courageous is all about taking risks and taking risks is all about living.

Dear readers, I hope these can be of help to you as they were to me.


*To MJ, thank you. I am a better person because of you.

Leave a Reply

