Vote to live a better life

A brave man once said that “The Filipino is worth dying for”. He sparked a revolution of peace that had a dream for freedom from tyranny, democracy and progress. But I rarely see that these days.

The May elections are just around the corner. Politicians are busy doing their campaigns. I am apathetic to their cause. Could it be because we all heard someone say those same words before? Promises to alleviate poverty, to be anti-corrupt, to see that our country’s future will not be always of debt but of social and economic progress? We were all disappointed. 24 years later, we seem to be back to where we were before. There is no dictator now but a different kind of tyranny prevails. Sometimes, it even seems self-inflicted.

I know that our nation is not really so bad. There are others worse off than us. I am thankful for the small blessings we get but I also wonder what could be the cause of our own state?

Could it be that we no longer love our own country as we did before?

I noticed that more and more foreigners come to our country to settle, marry, start a business and live here. I also noticed more and more Filipinos leaving our soil to work abroad, settle there, marry and hardly return. I guess, I am just one of those who dream of going abroad for a vacation but not really leave the Philippines.

I am one of those who did work abroad (for a year) but I returned home. I learned a lot from my experience and I am thankful for the opportunity to work and meet new people. I also found out that my dream to have my own business and to raise my family, is still back in my hometown.

However, not everyone’s fortune is the same and much of our OFWs struggle to earn and send money to their families and to help our country’s economy. There are many problems that our country needs to tackle and we all need to chip in for solutions.

What prompted me to write this is that we all want progress and a better future for our country. I wonder if that is what the people who are running in our elections really want as well.

I know that we all have our own ideals as to what kind of person should be elected. I hope that when the time comes for you to vote (and hopefully no blackouts will happen), you will choose the person you feel will be an advocate to truth, justice, peace and love.

We should change the word “dying”. We should take each day as an opportunity to do good, to be part of the solution in our country’s plight for progress and change because the Filipino is worth LIVING for.

Leave a Reply

