Signs of a Panic Attack

My first panic attack was after I gave birth to my daughter. There were some inconsistencies on our hospital bills and there was also the fact that I could not bring my baby home with me because she was still under a five-day medication.Stress started to set in and then before I knew it I felt something constricting my breath and my chest. It was awful.

Most people have no idea that panic attacks can just happen to anybody. Here is a list of the signs of a panic attack. If four or more is what you suddenly experience and they only begin to fade in about 10 minutes or so, then it was a panic attack.

  • shortness of breath
  • you feel terrified because you’re not in control of the situation
  • increased heart rate
  • numbness or tingling in your fingers or toes
  • chest pain
  • sudden chills
  • nausea
  • a sense of detachment
  • trembling
  • sweating
  • as if something is choking you
  • vertigo or dizziness

To manage panic attacks is not easy. For me, it took some prescribed medication and a lot of destressing activities. If you feel that there’s another attack coming, you can try to do a different activity to distract yourself. You can also try to talk and reassure yourself that you’re okay and you can get through with it. After the symptoms are gone, do take a chill pill and just relax.

Leave a Reply

