Fever Alert!

My mother gave me a thermometer just before Labyu was born. She said I needed one to check on my baby’s temperature. At first, I shrugged it off as her fussiness over things like me but then later on, I realized how important a thermometer is because I didn’t know fevers are common with babies.

There several kinds of thermometers out there. A rectal thermometer is one they usually use on babies from 0 to 3 months. However, I don’t use that. I use a digital thermometer. This kind of thermometer is for 4 to 6 month old babies. I like them because I basically turn it on and there’s a beep. I place the thermometer under Labyu’s underarm and wait for another beep. Once I hear the second beep, I remove the thermometer and it shows her temperature on the digital screen. It’s easier to read than the rectal thermometer.

Another type is the temporal-artery thermometer. My pediatrician uses this. This is ideal to use for older babies (7 to 12 months). It works like magic (for me) because the doctor just places the thermometer on my baby’s forehead and then there’s a blip. Then it’s over. The doctor has the temperature in just a second.

What you need to watch out for is the range of your baby’s temperature. As a rule, anything below or beyond 36.5 degree Celsius to 37.5 degree Celsius, warrants some action. If your baby is too cool, warm her up with her clothes. If she’s too hot, cool her down with a cool wet cloth. You can also give your baby paracetamol drops but do follow the dosage on the box. If the fever persists, it would be best to call your doctor.

Fevers are likely to occur when your baby gets vaccinated or some bug is around and she happens to catch it. Other symptoms of a fever would be a cranky baby who just wants to be held and held until she falls asleep.

Leave a Reply

